What Happens to a Person at Fault for a Car Accident With No Insurance in Las Vegas, NV?

Your money will definitely stay in Vegas if you drive without auto insurance coverage. Nevada imposes strict fines on drivers who don’t meet the state’s auto insurance requirements.

Registration Requirements

You need to register your car within 30 days if you drive it in Nevada. And, you must get insurance before you register your car. If you need to cancel your insurance, cancel your registration first, and then cancel your insurance. But, remember, you can’t drive your car without registration or insurance coverage.

Penalties For Driving Without Insurance

If you drive your car without insurance in Las Vegas, the department of motor vehicles will assess fines if you get pulled over. The fines you pay depend on whether it’s your first incident or you’re a repeat offender. The time you’ve been without insurance also impacts how much you pay.

  • You might pay up to $1,750 in fines.

For example, if you’re a first time offender, and your insurance coverage lapsed within the last 30 days, you’ll pay a fine of $250. But, if it’s your third offense, you’ll pay $750 in fines. The fines increase if your lapsed coverage continues beyond 30 days, so you might pay up to $1,750 in fines.

  • You might lose your licenses.

The DMV will take away your driving privileges for 30 days if you’re a repeat offender on your third offense. Your policy’s lapsed period has no bearing on this rule. So, if you’re policy lapsed yesterday, but you’re driving about today, you risk losing your licenses for at least 30 days.

  • You might need to pay a security deposit

If you’re at fault in an accident and you don’t have insurance, you risk losing your driving privileges. The DMV will set a hearing for you, but you can attend it or waive your rights to it. The hearing determines whether a court is likely to hold you liable for damages. If so, you might need to pay a security amount toward those damages. During the hearing, the Director also decides whether to suspend your licenses and registration.

  • You might need to carry an SR22

After a suspension, you might need to carry a certificate of financial responsibility or SR-22. An SR-22 certificate proves that you have insurance, and you’ll need to carry it for three years. If you drop your coverage during this time, the insurance company notifies the DMV immediately. The DMV, in turn, might suspend your license and your registration.

Don’t put your driving privileges at risk. Call us today so our knowledgeable agents can help you get affordable auto insurance coverage in Las Vegas.

I have an old car of a car that isn’t worth much — do I really have to buy auto insurance?

The age of your vehicle is only an issue when it comes to collision insurance. The majority of states require drivers to have some form of liability coverage. Once you understand the difference between collision and liability insurance, you will understand the type of protection you need.

Collision Insurance

This type of auto insurance covers damage to your vehicle. If you were involved in an accident, the insurance would help you in paying for repairs. Collision insurance is normally required if you have a loan for your vehicle. However, it is required by the lending agency, not by the state. A comprehensive policy would also protect you if your vehicle was stolen or otherwise damaged.

If you own an old car, carrying the extra insurance may not be in your best interest. For example, if your car has a value of $600 and you have a $500 deductible, you would only receive $100 if your car were totaled. However, even if you do not have a loan, if you drive an expensive vehicle the extra insurance is a good idea.

Liability Insurance

Liability is the coverage designed to protect other drivers, property owners or passengers in your vehicle. Virtually all states require that you have a certain amount of insurance in the event that you damage another vehicle or cause property damage or bodily injury. The amount varies by state and some states accept financial bonds as proof of responsibility.

If you are in a state that requires insurance, not having it can subject you to fines and penalties. You could lose your license and potentially serve jail time. You also subject yourself to the possibility of a lawsuit that could wipe you out financially.

You can use our online comparison service to get quotes from multiple insurance providers. We do not want you to be caught without the auto insurance you need, even if you own an old car. Contact us and let us help you with your insurance requirements.